Research and innovation , News

Dr. Juan Camilo Londoño Cano and Dr. Johana Benavides Martínez, residents of the specialization in Urology at the CES University School of Medicine, won the award Professor Pablo Gómez Martínez, which was delivered at the 2020 Colombian Congress of Urology.

This award is given to the best oral presentation made by a resident in this Congress, which was held virtually from October 15 to 18, and brought together 62 papers from different Urology programs from all the country's universities that have this specialization.

Photography: Urologists

Photography: Office of Organizational Communication

This award was for the work of 'Etiology of urethral stricture in a fourth level institution in Colombia', and was carried out together with the urologist Federico Gaviria, an adjunct professor at the University who works at the Pablo Tobón Uribe Hospital”, Explained Dr. Londoño Cano.

According to Dr. Londoño, the work wanted to evaluate the cause of urethral stricture, a disease in which a segment of the urethra (tube through which urine is transported) becomes narrower causing difficulty in urinating.

A series of patients operated on in the hospital between April 2012 and June 2020 was reviewed. The conclusion of this study was that the narrowing of the urethra is a pathology that occurs more and more frequently and is currently the main cause for which occurs is iatrogenesis (damage caused by a previous medical intervention) for which we are called to improve prevention strategies”Added Dr. Londoño Cano.

For Dr. Rafael Castellanos Acosta, coordinator of the CES University Urology program, this award is important for the program because it allows recognition of the novel work of urology residents around the descriptive analysis and behavior of an old disease.

The Colombian Society of Urology is the scientific organization to which the majority of urologists in the country belong and is in charge of ensuring the quality of this specialization and the professional well-being of its members since 1957, the year it was created.

Know all the news